Whilst it had been heavily rumoured that legendary tag team The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express would be inducted into the WWE Hall Of Fame Class of 2017, the WWE has now made it official. Ricky Morton and Robert Gibson will join Kurt Angle as inductees this year.

The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express made a name for themselves in the South of America wrestling for Jim Crockett Promotions and NWA during the early 80’s. Most notably their feuds with The Midnight Express and The Four Horsemen really put the duo on the map to become the legendary tag team that they are today. During their NWA run they won the Tag Team Titles on 9 occasions and become Smoky Mountain Tag Team Champions 10 times.

The duo are still active on the independent scene despite being near 40 year veterans of the squared circle and most recently appeared on mainstream television wrestling the Hardy’s during Total Nonstop Deletion.

The 2017 WWE Hall Of Fame Ceremony takes place on 31st March at the Amway Centre in Orlando, Florida as part of WrestleMania 33 weekend. With just Kurt Angle and The Rock ‘n’ Roll  Express so far being announced as inductees we can expect more names to be announced over the next few weeks as the anticipation for WrestleMania reaches fever pitch.

Leave a Reply