NJPW put on a show this morning to celebrate Togi Makabe’s 20th anniversary in the ring. The entire show was based around Makabe and opened up with a fitting video package of him featuring all of the Title’s he has been able to win during his time with NJPW.

The opening bout unfortunately ended in injury to Henare who suffered an ankle injury resulting in the match being stopped.

Jado & Gedo overcame TAKA Michinoku & El Desperado in a decent tag team match which ended when Jado locked in the crossface on TAKA to get the submission win.

In the next bout the main takeaway was the development of the feud between Shibata and Suzuki and these two men did not hold back. The match itself ended when Kanemaru pinned Tiger Mask but even after the match Suzuki and Shibata continued to go for each other, setting up a great feud which could see Shibata drop the RevPro British Title to Will Ospreay to enable him to go after Suzuki.

In the main event Makabe and Honma defeated Ishii and Yano in a very entertaining tag match which was a fitting way to end the show for Makabe. This match has been seen many times in the past but it was good to see Makabe get the spotlight shone on him which was very well justified in my eyes. It was a non-title match so Ishii and Yano remain IWGP Tag Team Champions and Makabe got to see out the show his way.

Here are the full results from for the NJPW Togi Makabe 20th Anniversary Show Card;

Tomoyuki Oka defeated Henare
Jado & Gedo defeated TAKA Michinoku & El Desperado
Taichi, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Takashi Iizuka, & Minoru Suzuki defeated Tiger Mask, Jushin “Thunder” Liger, Yuji Nagata, & Katsuyori Shibata
David Finlay, KUSHIDA, Ruysuke Taguchi, Juice Robinson, & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated BUSHI, Hiromu Takahashi, EVIL, SANADA, & Tetsuya Naito
YOSHI-HASHI, Hirooki Goto, & Kazuchika Okada defeated Manabu Nakanishi, Satoshi Kojima, & Hiroyoshi Tenzan
Tomoaki Honma & Togi Makabe defeated Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano.

Leave a Reply