David Finlay will be missing NJPW New Japan Cup due to an injury on his left shoulder. The injury transpired on February 23, 2019, at Korakuen Hall. The date of his return has not been announced or verified with New Japan Pro-Wrestling. The former NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Champion’s replacement is undetermined from NJPW officials. News of Finlay unable to perform for the New Japan audience was announced by NJPW1972.com

The King of Sports released a statement on February 28, 2019.

“Additionally, David Finlay’s replacement in the New Japan Cup is also undecided. We are truly sorry to all to all the fans who were looking forward to seeing David Finlay’s matches. We are hoping for his speedy recovery. Thank you very much.”

New Japan Pro Wrestling Co., Ltd.

The New Japan fandom expressed their concern for the wrestler via social media on the NJPW website but are trying to keep a positive outlook on the situation that occurred. They can not wait to see who will be added to the tournament next.

The New Japan Cup is one of the most important tournaments held by NJPW. It is an annual single-elimination tournament that runs into the G1 Climax Tournament. The winner has the right to choose which title them can compete for, the title shot can be for the NEVER Openweight Championship, IWGP Intercontinental Championship, or the IWGP Heavyweight Championship. The updates on which title that the winner could compete for was added in 2014.

The 2019 New Japan Cup will take place between March 8 and 24. Unlike the previous year, the tournament will feature 32 wrestlers instead of 16 and marks the New Japan Cup debut of 7 wrestlers. Here is the bracket of first-round matches of New Japan Cup, that will take place from March 8 to March 11.

Yuji Nagata vs Tomohiro Ishii
Tomoaki Honma vs Taichi
Manabu Nakanishi vs YOSHI-HASHI
Juice Robinson vs Chase Owens

Kazuchika Okada vs Michael Elgin
Mikey Nicholls vs Hikuleo
Will Ospreay vs Bad Luck Fale
Toa Henare vs Lance Archer

(click on a pic to open the gallery)

Hiroshi Tanahashi vs Shota Umino
Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs TBD
Kota Ibushi vs Tetsuya Naito
EVIL vs Zack Sabre Jr.

Togi Makabe vs Colt Cabana
Toru Yano vs Davey Boy Smith Jr.
Satoshi Kojima vs Minoru Suzuki
Hirooki Goto vs SANADA

(click on a pic to open the gallery)

Pics courtesy of New Japan Pro-Wrestling

Leave a Reply