NJPW have released the line-up of all the juniors that will be taking part in this year’s Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, that will start on May 13 and end on June 5, 2019. There will be 20 participants in the tournament this year with names ranging from promotions around the world.

These range from ROH, CMLL, NJPW and further afield to create one of the most diverse tournaments to date.

Taguchi, Tiger Mask, Rocky and SHO

Here’s the list:

  • Ryusuke Taguchi (Home Team, Taguchi Japan)
  • Tiger Mask IV (Home Team)
  • Rocky Romero (Chaos)
  • SHO (Chaos)
  • YOH (Chaos)
  • Will Ospreay (Chaos)

  • Taiji Ishimori (Bullet Club)
  • Robbie Eagles (Bullet Club)
  • El Desperado (Suzuki Gun)
  • TAKA Michinoku (Suzuki Gun)
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru (Suzuki Gun)
  • Shingo Takagi (LIJ)

  • Flip Gordon (ROH)
  • Bandido (ROH)
  • Jonathan Gresham (ROH)
  • Marty Scurll (ROH)
  • Dragon Lee (CMLL)
  • Titan (CMLL)

Titan, Scurll, Dragon Lee and Eagles

The last name is currently marked as X but countless videos throughout the previous tour and at the end of the reveal video tease X as none other than El Phantasmo. Nevertheless, NJPW announced that “X” will be revealed on May 4th at Wrestling Dontaku.

He is famous most recently for his work in the UK with promotions like Fight Club Pro and RevPro. He has also been revealed as a new acquisition for the Bullet Club, he would be giving them three entrants in this year’s tournament if he was X.

Gresham, Bandido, Takagi and X

The block information has yet to be revealed but, given the list of talent on offer and the number of newly debuting stars, means this could be one of the best tournaments yet.

Robbie Eagles, Bandido, Jonathan Gresham and Shingo Takagi are all newcomers in the tournament, as well as the unnamed but teased Phantasmo. Not to mention previous winners of the tournament and former Junior Champs thrown into the mix. There is a lot of dream match potential here.

The full reveal video is here:

(All images courtesy of njpw1972.com)

Leave a Reply