NJPW have announced the blocks for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament. We’ve already covered the initial entrants but the company has officially confirmed El Phantasmo as the final competitor and the third member of Bullet Club taking part.

The tournament is always split into two blocks, Block A and Block B with the highest scoring of both blocks going head to head in the final. It is in round robin format so every competitor in each block will fight each other.

Brody King has also been confirmed for the tour
Brody King will also be featured on this tour

Block A contains the following:

  • Taka Michinoku
  • Titan
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Marty Scurll
  • Jonathan Gresham
  • SHO
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Dragon Lee
  • Taiji Ishimori
  • Tiger Mask.

The fight schedule for Block A

Block B contains the following:

  • Robbie Eagles
  • Flip Gordon
  • El Desperado
  • Bandido
  • El Phantasmo
  • Will Ospreay
  • Ryusuke Taguchi
  • YOH
  • Rocky Romero.

The fight schedule for B Block

Both blocks will contain members of factions having to fight one another as well as some notable dream/grudge matches, as Block A gets SHO vs Shingo and Scurll vs Gresham, whilst Block B will get Phantasmo’s first proper run with the company and Ospreay vs Bandido.

As well as the tournament finals, the June 5th show will also host the return of Hiroshi Tanahashi, who will continue his rivalry with Jay White and Juice Robinson will take on whoever has sent the mysterious “Times up” video.  It has also been revealed that Scurll’s faction mate Brody King will also be making appearances during the tour.

Tanahashi vs White for June 5th

(All images courtesy of njpw1972.com)

Leave a Reply