NJPW Strong, this Friday, saw the Road to New Japan Cup USA 2021, and the reveal of just what each of the eight competitors in a single-elimination competition this April will be fighting for. While the 2020 tournament was contested for number one contendership status to the IWGP US Heavyweight Championship held by Jon Moxley, this year’s tournament will be different.

In 2021, the tournament winner will not be a contender, but rather a champion; the Strong Openweight Champion. As the name suggests, the title represents the pinnacle of competition on NJPW STRONG on Friday nights and will be contested by wrestlers of any weight class.

The eight confirmed entrants for New Japan Cup USA 2021 are:

  • Tom Lawlor
  • Lio Rush
  • Hikuleo
  • Fred Rosser
  • Ren Narita
  • Brody King
  • Clark Connors
  • Chris Dickinson

Pics courtesy of NJPW and NJPW of America

By Steph Franchomme

News, Reviews, Social Media Editor Impact Wrestling Reviewer Interviewer And French...

Leave a Reply