Entrants have been revealed for Best of the Super Jr. 28, which kicks off on November 13 in Korakuen Hall. 12 wrestlers will be part of the single block league, leading to the top two point scorers in the combined final along with World Tag League 2021 in Ryogoku Sumo Hall on December 15. Historically, the winner receives a shot at the IWPG Jr. Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom. If the current champion ends up winning, he typically decides his challenger in January.

The entrants are as follows:

  • El Desperado (5th entry, 2nd consecutive, IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion)
  • SHO (4th entry, 4th consecutive)
  • Hiromu Takahashi (6th entry, 3rd consecutive. 2018, 2020 winner)
  • YOH (4th entry, 1st in two years)
  • Master Wato (2nd entry, 2nd consecutive)
  • El Phantasmo (2nd entry, 1st in two years. 2019, 2020 Super J-Cup winner)
  • Ryusuke Taguchi (18th entry, 16th consecutive, 2012 winner)
  • Robbie Eagles (3rd entry, 3rd consecutive, IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion)
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru (4th entry, 1st in two years)
  • Taiji Ishimori (5th entry, 4th consecutive)
  • BUSHI (9th entry, 6th consecutive)
  • DOUKI (3rd entry, 3rd consecutive)

The lineup for World Tag League 2021 has been finalised, with 12 teams set to face off in the single block league starting November 14. The top two point-scoring teams will meet on December 15 at Ryogoku Sumo Hall to determine who walks away with the WTL trophies and faces IWGP Tag Team Champions Dangerous Tekkers at Wrestle Kingdom.

The entrants are as follows:

  • Guerrillas of Destiny (6th entry, 6th consecutive. 2020 winners)
  • Dangerous Tekkers (3rd entry, 3rd consecutive, IWGP Tag Team Champions)
  • Great Bash Heel (6th entry, 1st in two years. 2015, 2016 winners)
  • TenCozy (9th entry, 1st in two years)
  • Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI (3rd entry, 2nd consecutive)
  • EVIL & Yujiro Takahashi (2nd entry, 2nd consecutive)
  • Bad Luck Fale & Chase Owens (4th entry, 3rd consecutive)
  • Tetsuya Naito & SANADA (debut entry)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi & Toru Yano (debut entry)
  • Great-O-Khan & Aaron Henare (debut entry)
  • Yuji Nagata & Tiger Mask (debut entry)
  • Minoru Suzuki & TAKA Michinoku (debut entry)

Tetsuya Naito announced at Wrestle Kingdom 16 press conference (see below) that he would be making his return to the ring for this tournament. Naito went down with a knee injury in September that cost him being involved in this year’s NJPW G1 Climax tournament.

All pics and videos courtesy of NJPW

By Steph Franchomme

News, Reviews, Social Media Editor, Impact Wrestling Reviewer, Interviewer Well, call me The Boss... And French...

Leave a Reply